Search
 
 

Display results as :
 


Rechercher Advanced Search

Latest topics
» Russia banned from all competitions for 4 years!
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman EmptyMon Dec 09, 2019 7:41 pm by Tenez

» Some humour for this forum
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman EmptyFri Nov 29, 2019 6:51 pm by naxroy

» Generation Worthless
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman EmptySun Nov 24, 2019 10:43 pm by BEL19VE

» World Tour Final - London 2019
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman EmptySun Nov 24, 2019 12:23 am by naxroy

» Will Nadal ever win a Tour Finals title?
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman EmptySat Nov 16, 2019 2:34 am by summerblues

» When cupcake draws can't save you
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman EmptyFri Nov 15, 2019 10:16 pm by Daniel2

» General Election 2019: Advice
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman EmptyFri Nov 15, 2019 7:01 pm by bogbrush

» Fall 2019 tournaments
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman EmptyFri Nov 15, 2019 2:16 pm by legendkillar

» Has Rafa asked Fed to his nuptials, and would Fed go if asked?
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman EmptyFri Oct 18, 2019 6:11 pm by barrystar

December 2019
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Calendar Calendar

Affiliates
free forum


Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman

Go down

Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman Empty Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman

Post by noleisthebest on Thu Jun 26, 2014 11:57 am

In a show of sportsmanship rarely seen at the professional level, especially at a crucial moment in one of sports' biggest events, Novak Djokovic gave his opponent a critical point during his second round match at Wimbledon.
The moment came late in the fourth set with Djokovic and Radek Stepanek tied 5-5 and Djokovic leading 2-1 in sets. Djokovic was one point from going up 6-5 in the set when a ball hit deep by Stepanek was ruled out just prior to Djoker hitting the ball into the net.
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman 14320779618_119a1b8de4_o

Stepanek, who had been playing shots deep near the line all match, was immediately in disbelief.

Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman Snapshot20140625145457



He emphatically challenged the call.
Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman 14527487733_5103398830_o

The replay system showed that the ball was indeed in, much to the delight of the crowd looking for a fifth set.

Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman Snapshot20140625145712


But here is where things get tricky. Since the call was made in a spot where Djokovic could have played the ball, the umpire called for a replay of the point. The thinking is that the call could have impacted Djokovic's ability to make a play.

Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman Snapshot20140625145901

Stepanek appeared to question the decision but didn't put up much of an argument seemingly accepting of the decision.

Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman Snapshot20140625150150
But at this point, Djokovic grabbed the attention of the umpire and conceded the point, basically admitting that he would not have been able to return the shot. The umpire accepted this and changed his own call, giving the point to Stepanek and returning the game to deuce.

Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman Snapshot20140625150444
 
Stepanek, along with the crowd, cheered the display of sportsmanship. Djokovic did go on to win the game, the set, and the match. But Stepanek had a big hug for Djokovic after the match.

Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman Novak-djokovic-and-radek-stepanek



Here is the entire sequence.



Source: http://www.businessinsider.com/novak-djokovic-wimbledon-opponent-point-2014-6#ixzz35k2z4uxq

noleisthebest

Posts : 27760
Join date : 2012-06-18

Back to top Go down

Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman Empty Re: Novak Djokovic: A Tenniser And A Gentleman

Post by summerblues on Sat Jun 28, 2014 1:34 am

This is indeed great credit to Nole.  He does this habitually - he did much the same thing in his 2012 RG final vs Rafa and I have seen him do similar on other occasions too.

I do not believe any other of the top 4 would do the same.

summerblues

Posts : 4907
Join date : 2012-05-19

Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum